Cosplayers of Color: Tiburon Takes Aim

What is good Blockheads, CoC is back and today we got to sit down with the lovely, the talented and my sister from another mister, Tiburon Cosplay! Hope you enjoy the conversation we had.

  

Bobbo: So, I wanna first thank you for being a part of this and do you have any questions for me before we get started??
 :Thank you for asking to be a part of this. Umm, no not that I can think of.
Bobbo: Okay cool.. SO, to start off, I wanna say that we all on Geek Street and The Block have really love watching you grow more and more in the cosplay world.. We always love seeing one of our friends shine.. So if you could for the readers who haven’t gotten a chance to know you yet, tell them about yourself and how long you’ve been doing this passion of cosplay?
: Hi guys I’m Cheyenne but some might know me by Tiburon Cosplay. I’m 22 with an associates in Baking and Pastry. I’ve been cosplaying for almost four years now and I grow to love it more everyday. All throughout middle and high school I was in theater so I’ve always been around costumes and stages. I never really got the courage to wear my first cosplay until 2013 when I wore Ed from Cowboy Bebop to a local convention. I haven’t looked back since.
Bobbo: OMG, I think I remember you showing me that one.. So everybody has an origin story.. You said that Ed was your first cosplay.. Can you tell us what got you into wanting to do cosplay in the first place and why did you choose Ed to be your first?
: Well I had gone to my first convention the year before and was starry-eyed the whole time looking at everyone’s costumes. I didn’t even know who half the characters were, but that didn’t stop me from asking for photos of their amazing work. I tried to put something together that night for the next day of the convention, but I wasn’t too happy with the outcome. From there I decided I wanted to try making a costume to wear to the next con I went to and Ed was the first thing to pop into my head! I mean I always loved Cowboy Bebop and how eccentric Ed was. It was a fairly simple costume, but to me that was my pride and joy since it was the first time I put something together myself. I styled my first wig! That was pretty awesome, lol
Bobbo: That is one thing I always love about your cosplays are to see what you are going to do with the wig. But you have hit the ground running from there and done so many cosplays, but which one is your favorite and why?
: My absolute favorite right now is definitely my Snowbunny Nidalee. It was the first time I made absolutely everything on the costume. I learned to work with fur and LEDs so, that was fun. Plus I got to wear these 6 inch heels that made me tower over everyone for once 😈
Bobbo: Ha, that cosplay was indeed fierce and bad-ass, I know you took a lot of pride making everything for it. So if there were any words of wisdom or advice you’d like to give the next generation of cosplayers, what would it be?
: Don’t give up! I know it seems super intimidating at first, but it’s soooo worth it. Always remember that cosplayer you see making full armor builds started in the exact same place you are now. There is not a right or wrong way to cosplay. Just give it your all and your work will speak for itself.
Bobbo: Super dope and I know that those are words to really keep to heart. It is always so good to sit down and chat with you my dear. I want to thank you again for this wonderful chance to pick your brain.
: Thank you for having me!
Don’t forget to follow her on Facebook and all over Social Media! We will keep pressing on with these features. I am so glad you guys get to meet my favorite cosplayers.
One thought on “Cosplayers of Color: Tiburon Takes Aim

Leave a Reply

